Hoosiers by the Numbers

Your premier source for labor market information for Indiana.

Labor Surplus Areas, FY 2013

The Department of Labor (DOL) issues the labor surplus area list on a fiscal year basis. The list becomes effective each October 1 and remains in effect through the following September 30. The reference period used in preparing the current list was January 2010 through December 2011. The national average unemployment rate during this period was rounded to 9.4 percent. Twenty percent higher than the national unemployment rate is rounded to 11.2 percent. Since the ceiling unemployment rate is 10.0 percent, the qualifying rate is 10.0 percent. Therefore, areas included on the FY 2013 labor surplus area list had an average unemployment rate of 10.0 percent or above during the reference period. Areas included on the FY 2013 annual Labor Surplus Area list are all counties, county equivalents, balance of county (where the entire county did not make the LSA list), and cities with a population greater than 25,000 with an average unemployment rate of 10.0 percent or above during the previous two calendar years. The FY 2013 labor surplus area list can be accessed at: http://www.doleta.gov/programs/lsa.cfm.

The labor surplus areas are as follows.

  • Blackford County
  • Cass County
  • Clay County
  • Crawford County
  • Decatur County
  • DeKalb County
  • Fayette County
  • Fountain County
  • Fulton County
  • Henry County
  • Huntington County
  • Jennings County
  • LaGrange County
  • Lawrence County
  • Marshall County
  • Miami County
  • Newton County
  • Noble County
  • Orange County
  • Owen County
  • Parke County
  • Putnam County
  • Randolph County
  • Ripley County
  • Scott County
  • Starke County
  • Steuben County
  • Sullivan County
  • Tipton County
  • Vermillion County
  • Wabash County
  • East Chicago city
  • Elkhart city
  • Fort Wayne city
  • Gary city
  • Goshen city
  • Hammond city
  • Hobart city
  • Kokomo city
  • Marion city
  • Michigan City city
  • Mishawaka city
  • Muncie city
  • New Albany city
  • Richmond city
  • South Bend city
  • Terre Haute city
  • Balance of Clark County
  • Balance of Delaware County
  • Balance of Elkhart County
  • Balance of LaPorte County
  • Balance of Madison County
  • Balance of Marion County
  • Balance of Vigo County
  • Balance of Wayne County