Hoosiers by the Numbers

Your premier source for labor market information for Indiana.

Labor Surplus Areas, FY 2016

The Department of Labor (DOL) issues the labor surplus area list on a fiscal year basis. The list becomes effective each October 1 and remains in effect through the following September 30. The reference period used in preparing the current list was January 2013 through December 2014. The national average unemployment rate (including Puerto Rico) during this period was rounded to 6.82 percent. Twenty percent higher than the national unemployment rate is 8.18 percent. Therefore areas included on the FY 2016 Labor Surplus Area list which are all counties, county equivalents, balance of county (where the entire county did not make the LSA list), and cities with a population greater than 25,000 had a rounded unemployment rate for the reference period of 8.18 percent or higher. The FY 2016 labor surplus area list can be accessed at: http://www.doleta.gov/programs/lsa.cfm The Federal Register can be accessed at: http://www.doleta.gov/programs/pdf/2016_LSA_Federal_Register_Notice.pdf

The labor surplus areas are as follows.

  • Blackford County
  • Crawford County
  • Fayette County
  • Fountain County
  • Greene County
  • Lake County
  • LaPorte County
  • Lawrence County
  • Madison County
  • Orange County
  • Owen County
  • Starke County
  • Sullivan County
  • Vermillion County
  • Vigo County
  • Anderson city
  • East Chicago city
  • Gary city
  • Hammond city
  • Hobart city
  • Marion city
  • Merrillville town
  • Michigan City city
  • Muncie city
  • Richmond city
  • South Bend city
  • Terre Haute city
     Balance of County
  • Balance of LaPorte County